Bismillaah Al-Hamdulillaah wa salatu wa salaamu ‘ala rasulullaah

Narrated by Abu Hurairah (radiallaahu ‘anhu): The Messenger of Allaah (salallaahu ‘alaihi wa sallam) said, “Eeman has sixty or seventy-odd branches. The least of them is to remove something harmful from the road, and the most lofty of them is the saying:Laa illaha il Allaah(none has the right to be worshipped except Allaah). And modesty is a branch of Eeman.” [Agreed Upon] __________________________________________________ ______________

The Sixty or Seventy-odd Branches of Eeman

[The following is from Shaikh Zaynoo’s highly beneficial book The Methodology of The Saved Sect]

The Messenger (salallaahu ‘alayhi wa sallam) said: Eeman consists of sixty-something branches, the highest of them is to say ‘Laa illaaha illa-Allaah,’ and the lowest of them is to remove something harmful from the road.[Muslim]
In Fat-H ul-Baari, Al-Haafidh Ibn Hajar [Al-Ascalani, rahimahullaah] summarized the statement of Ibn Hibbaan (rahimahullaah), who mentioned the following regarding this hadeeth:

Verily, these branches are derived from the

actions of the heart, the actions of the tongue, and the actions of the body.

1- As for the actions of the heart:

They are the beliefs and the intentions. They consist of 24 matters*: Eeman in Allaah, and it comprises of Eeman in His Essence, His Attributes, and His Oneness. With the fact that:لَيْسَ كَمِثْلِه ِ شَيْء ٌ وَهُوَ السَّمِيعُ البَصِيرُ

There is nothing like unto Him, and He is the All-Hearer, the All-Seer. (Ash-Shura, ayah 11)

It also includes belief in the occurrence of that which He wrote. Also, Eeman in His Angels, His Books, His Messengers, and Qadr (pre-destination), its good and its bad. It includes Eeman in The Last Day, the questioning in the grave, its blessing and its punishment, and the Day of Resurrection, the Judgement, the Scales and the Bridge (Siraat), Paradise and Hell.

Also, the love of Allaah, loving and hating for His sake, love for the Prophet (salallaahu ‘alayhi wa sallam), belief in his excellence, and it comprises of sending salutations upon him and following his Sunnah, Ikhlaas which comprises of abandoning showing off and hypocrisy, repentance, fear, hope, thanks, allegiance, patience and contenment with the Divine Pre-Decree and Ordainment, trust, mercy, humility, respecting the elders and being merciful to the young, to abandon pride and conceit, to abandon jealousy, hatred and anger.

2- The actions of the tongue: It comprises of the following seven matters:

  1. The pronouncement of Tawheed (testifying that none has the right to be worshipped except Allaah, and that Muhammad is the Messenger of Allaah),
  2. Recitation of the Qur`an
  3. Learning knowledge and teaching it to others
  4. Supplicationto Allaah alone
  5. Dhikr (remembrance of Allaah) which comprises of asking for forgiveness
  6. TasbeeH (glorifying Allaah by saying ‘SubhanAllaah‘)
  7. avoidance of vain talk

3- The actions of the body: It comprises of 38 matters:

a- From them is that which is connected to the individual: It consists of 15 characteristics which are the

purification of the outer and innser self, comprising of avoidance of impurities, covering and protecting the private parts, the obligatory and supererogatory prayers, similarly zakaat and freeing slaves, generosity which comprises of giving food and honoring the guest, the obligatory and supererogatory fasting, i’tikaaf (seclusion in the masjid), searching for Lailatul-Qadr, Hajj and ‘Umrah, and similarly Tawaaf.

Also, fleeing within the religion, and it comprises of Hijrah (migration) from the lands of Shirk to the land of Eeman, fulfilling the vows and looking after one’s swearing (i.e. swearing by Allaah) and the fulfillment of the expiation (such as the expiation of the oath and the expiation for having sexual intercourse during the days of Ramadaan).

b- From them is that which is connected to compliance: It comprises of six matters, which are

chastity within marriage and the establishment of the rights of the family, honoring the parents, and it comprises of avoiding being disrespectful to one’s parents, educating the children, maintaining the ties of the womb, obeying the ruler (without disobeying Allaah) and gentleness with the slaves.

c- From them that which is connected to the general matters: It comprises of 17 matters:

The establishment of rulership with justice, following the Jama’ah and obedience to those in authority (in that which is correct), making peace between the people, which includes fighting the Khawaarij** and the oppressors.

To co-operate upon Birr (righteousness) and Taqwah (piety), which includes enjoining the good and forbidding the evil, the establishment of the punishments of Allaah (Hudood), Jihaad with its levels, fulfillment of the trust and from its fulfillment of a fifth of the war booty, repayment of the loan, honoring the neighbor, having good dealings, collecting the wealth from whom it is permissible, and spending it upon those who have a right to it.

Also, it includes abandoning squandering and wastage, returning the salaam, responding to the one who sneezes, refraining from harming the people, keeping away from idle amusement, and removing something harmful from the road.

The preceding hadeeth proves that Tawheed, which is the saying of Laa illaaha illa-Allaah, is the highest level of Eeman and the most superior.So it is incumbent upon the callers to Islaam to begin with that which is the highest and then that which follows in priority. Starting with the foundations before the structure, and with the most important then that which follows in importance. This is because Tawheed unites the nations of the Arabs and non-Arabs upon Islaam and creates, from them, the Islaaamic State, the State of Tawheed.

Source: Chapter 38 of Shaikh Zaynoo’s highly beneficial book The Methodology of The Saved Sect


* [Some of these matters comprise parts of others. For example, Eeman in Allaah includes Eeman in His Essence, His Attributes and His Oneness. Another example, Ikhlaas includes the abandonment of showing off and hypocrisy. And Allaah knows best.]

** [The Khawaarij] An astray group and part of their belief is to declare Muslims to be outside the fold of Islaam on account of their committing major sins. They also call for speaking out and fighting against the Muslim rulers, in opposition to the way of the Salaf, who held the position that it is not permissible to speak out against the Muslim rulers nor to fight them, be they righteous or sinful. Refer to Chapter 5 in The Foundations of the Sunnah, by Imam Ahmad ibn Hanbal (Salafi Publications).

Post Courtesy : Maher Attiyeh  @